8 Different Types of Bamboos

Bamboo belongs to the grass family and is technically called the Poaceae. As per proper scientific resources, there are about 1500 different types of bamboo. Though bamboo is a common plant that grows in most regions, they are best suited to the tropical climate. Places those are dry or wet for the most part of the year. Depending on the climatic conditions different species of plants grow in different parts of the world. Bamboo is largely seen in the Asian, American and Australian regions. Listed below are the major types of bamboos. Let us have a look at it:


Types of Bamboo:

Golden Bamboo:

Golden Bamboo, also known as fishpole bamboo, monk’s belly bamboo, and by many other names, is the right type of Bamboo if you are planning for an ornamental garden. The botanical name of the golden bamboo is Phyllostachys aurea.

Sasa Palmata:

This species of bamboo belongs to the low-growing type. Unlike most other bamboo species they have larger leaves which make them shade-tolerant ones. This type of bamboo is largely found in Japan and on an average these plants can grow up to 7 feet. With the scientific name Sasa Palmata, it is also known as the broad-leaved bamboo.

Golden Chinese Timber Bamboo:

The Golden Chinese Timber Bamboo, also scientifically known as Genus Phyllostachys, are bamboos that have beautiful golden-yellow canes, which is usually in different shades of green in other species. They are very much attractive, and as the name suggests, they are usually found in and around the Chinese region.

Fountain bamboo:

Fountain bamboos are usually seen in the Asian regions and are scientifically known as Fargesia. They are found predominantly in the Himalayan and the Tibetan regions. They are also unofficially called the ‘blue fountains bamboo’ due to the blue clumps that are found on the canes of the bamboo.

Black Bamboo:

Black Bamboo is scientifically known as Phyllostachys Nigra. Just like the fountain bamboo, the black bamboo has a reason for its name. The canes of the bamboo are found with feathery leaves and jet black culms, and that is the reason they take the name Black Bamboo. It is predominantly found in the Hunan Province of China.

Veitch’s Bamboo:

Veitch’s Bamboo is scientifically called Sasa veitchii. These bamboos are predominantly found in the regions of Japan. They don’t grow tall but are quite stronger as they have fast running rhizomes in the stem. They grow in natural green color but then the color changes to light papery brown when they become matured plants.

Yushania Maculata:

This Manculata bamboo is often considered as a rare collection and is known by the scientific name Yushania Manchulata. They have stems that are blue in color, and the stem is covered with reddish culms. This species proves to be one of the toughest types of bamboos.

Muriel’s Bamboo:

Scientifically known as the Fargesia Murielae, this is widely known as the umbrella bamboo. It is also a part of the flowering family of bamboos. They have yellow canes and are predominantly found in the regions of Asian and Japanese soils.


Bamboo Varieties

Things you ought to know about Perennial Plants


Among the various ways in which plants are classified, one classification is based on the life of the plants or more precisely the cycle in which they bloom and die. So there is always a period in between and depending on that longevity plants are classified as Annuals, Biennials, and Perennials. So here we are going to see about one such type that is the perennials, the life of perennial plants and facts about such plants.

Perennial Plants

Life of perennial plants:

Perennials plants are the plants that can sustain for two seasons. The bloom during the season produce fruits and continue to live without dying. Most of these perennial plants live for more than two seasons. In simple words, a plant or flower that has a lifespan of more than two years is called perennial plant.  Some of the facts about perennial plants are as follow.

Other Characteristics and facts:

  • Though the life of the plant is fixed for two seasons, most of the perennial plants live for more than three seasons. That is with proper care it is hard for them to die, that is the reason why they are called the perennial ones.
  • Unlike the other types in the classification that bloom and die over a period, these plants do not have anything like that. They can live even after one vegetation cycle is over and thereby during the lifespan, they rest a lot in the middle. That is after one season is over.
  • For instance, mango is a perennial plant and gives fruits over seasons, but most plans that we see gives the best quality fruits in the alternative season, in between they just go through a slumber.
  • Having said so much about perennials, you think perennials don’t die? Some of the perennials do die. Herbaceous perennials die during the winter season. When the spring returns, the flowers get back to life. During this slumber they don’t produce new leaves or bear fruits, they just exist. They will get back to work only when the spring reappears.
  • In case if you are into gardening and you have perennials wait for the flower to bloom and stop. Once the blooming and fruit-bearing period are over, dig the place, cut them to pieces and replant them. They will grow well when the spring returns. This is one method of growing your vegetation.
  • In general, the blooming period stays for 3 to 4 weeks that is a month or so. It may extend to a maximum one more week and mot more than that. The fruits start dying and the ones that come to life during this season are usually tasteless and doesn’t match the usual quality.